Scientific Committee:

Vitaly Bergelson (Ohio State University, USA)
Andreas Blass (University of Michigan, USA)
Mauro Di Nasso (Università di Pisa, Italia)
Renling Jin (College of Charleston, USA)

Organizing Committee:

Mauro Di Nasso (Università di Pisa, Italia) - chair
Lorenzo Luperi Baglini (Università di Milano, Italia)



The international Conference "ULTRAMATH 2020” aims to present recent results in the whole spectrum of mathematics which are grounded on the use of ultrafilters and ultraproducts.
Its main goals:

  • Disseminate information about the various techniques related to the use of ultrafilters and ultraproducts, and their potential to attack open problems.
  • Bring together researchers with different backgrounds, and encourage their collaborations and interactions, especially on topics connecting different areas of mathematics.

This is the second edition of “UltraMath”, after the one held in Pisa in 2008. [link]
The previous edition of “UltraMath” originated a volume that was published in the Contemporary Mathematics Series of the AMS. [link]

The covered topics include (but are not limited to):

  1. Additive and Combinatorial Number Theory.
  2. Combinatorics and Ramsey Theory.
  3. Algebra and Geometry.
  4. General Topology.
  5. Measure Theory.
  6. Ergodic Theory and Dynamics.
  7. Functional Analysis and Metric Spaces.
  8. Nonstandard Analysis and Model Theory.
  9. Generalized Spaces and Differential Equations.
  10. Set Theory.

Greater prominence will be given to those results that satisfy (most of) the following conditions:

  • the results can be formulated and presented in non-specialist terms, and be in principle understandable by any practicing mathematician.
  • the usage of ultrafilters/ultraproducts is important (or even essential) in obtaining these results.
  • the results connect different areas of mathematics.
  • the results reveal new facets of known important topics.

(Provisional) list of invited speakers:

  • Vieri Benci — Università di Pisa, Italia
  • Vitaly Bergelson — Ohio State University, USA
  • Andreas Blass — University of Michigan Ann Arbor, USA
  • Artem Chernikov — University of California Los Angeles (UCLA), USA
  • Natasha Dobrinen — University of Denver, USA
  • Cornelia Druţu — University of Oxford, UK
  • Victoria Gitman — City University of New York (CUNY), USA
  • Isaac Goldbring — University of California Irvine (UCI), USA
  • C. Ward Henson – University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Neil Hindman — Howard University, USA
  • Michael Hrušák — Universidad Nacional Autónoma, México
  • Renling Jin — College of Charleston, USA
  • Steven Leth — University of Northern Colorado, USA
  • Martino Lupini — Victoria University, New Zealand
  • Joel Moreira — University of Warwick, UK
  • Jaroslav Nešetřil — Charles University Praha, Czech Republic
  • Florian Richter – Northwestern University, USA
  • David A. Ross — University of Hawaii, USA
  • Sławomir Solecki — Cornell University, USA
  • Dona Strauss — University of Hull, UK
  • Simon Thomas — Rutgers University, USA
  • Stevo Todorcevic — University of Toronto, Canada and Université Paris Diderot, France

The opening of May 31, and the conferences of June 1 will be held at “Centro Congressi Le Benedettine”. [link]

The second part of the program, June 2-3-4-5-6, will be held at “Aula Magna” of the Math Department. [link]

There will be soon a call for contributed papers.

Depending on the funds available, participation of young researchers and researchers from disadvantages areas may be supported.

If you are planning to participate, please pre-register by sending an email to with your name and institution.

Please check this web site for updates.